The Wildlife Trusts

There are 47 Wildlife Trusts covering the UK, the Isle of Man and Alderney.

Each of the 47 Wildlife Trusts is an independent, autonomous charity with its own trustees, whose primary concern is the conservation of nature within its own geographical area.

Wildlife Trusts are split into regions; a single Trust covers Scotland; Wales has six Trusts which work increasingly closely together; there are Trusts for Ulster, the Isle of Man, Alderney and the Isles of Scilly and 36 Trusts across England largely based on the old county boundaries or small groupings of such counties.

  • Together the Wildlife Trusts are the largest UK voluntary organisation dedicated to protecting wildlife and wild places everywhere – on land and at sea.
  • They are supported by more than 800,000 members, 150,000 of which belong to our junior branch - Wildlife Watch.
  • Every year The Wildlife Trusts work with thousands of schools and welcome millions of visitors to our nature reserves and visitor centres.
  • The UK-wide part of our organisation was founded in 1912 by the banker and naturalist Charles Rothschild. By the end of the 1960s Wildlife Trusts had been formed across the British Isles (usually, but not always, at a county-wide level). Trusts were often set up by local activists determined to save what they could - the last remaining meadows, ancient woods, heaths - in the face of widespread devastation to our natural environment.
  • We work together as The Wildlife Trusts
  • As a member of The Wildlife Trusts movement, the Isles of Scilly Wildlife Trust shares the common approach to the Lobbying Act. Further details can be found here