The marine life of the Isles of Scilly is unrivalled in vibrancy, diversity and health. This is reflected by a number of designations aimed at protecting the biodiversity of Scilly's marine environment.

Marine Conservation Zones

Sponge habitat, Tim AllsopMarine Conservation Zones (MCZ) are a type of Marine Protected Area that protect areas nationally rare or threatened habitats and/or species and those places containing habitats and/or species that are representative of the biodiversity in our seas.

The Isles of Scilly Marine Conservation Zone is made up of 11 inshore sites around the Isles of Scilly and covers 30 km2.

The 11 sites that make up the Isles of Scill MCZ are Bishop to Crim; Bristows to the Stones; Gilstone to Gorregan; Hanjague to Deep Ledge; Higher Town; Lower Ridge to Innisvouls; Men a Vaur to White Island; Peninnis to Dry Ledge; Plympton to Spanish Ledge; Smith Sound Tide Swept Channel and Tean.

The MCZ spans a range of physical conditions and depth of seabed, from Mean high water mark to 70m, and supports an exceptionally high diversity of habitats and species.

You can download a fact sheet about this Marine Conservation Zone from the Natural England website

There is further information about this MCZ on the Isles of Scilly IFCA website.