Second wave of marine protection welcomed by The Wildlife Trusts

Sunday 17th January 2016

Underwater Scilly ~  © Tim AllsopUnderwater Scilly ~ © Tim Allsop

Today The Wildlife Trusts welcome the news that this Government is designating a second phase of 23 new Marine Conservation Zones (MCZs). This historic move illustrates a renewed impetus to protect the seas around our shores. It follows on from the announcement of 27 MCZs in 2013 and is the second of three phases promised by the Government in order to fulfil the remit of the Marine and Coastal Access Act.

The 23 new MCZs are special places and include cold water coral reefs, forests of sea fans, canyons and sandbanks, and an astonishingly varied range of submerged landscapes which support the stunning diversity of marine life found in the UK.

Marine Conservation Zones ~ current & new

They include Land’s End, one of the South-West’s most recognised areas; renowned for its rugged coastline, and the Cromer Shoal Chalk Beds in the North Sea, thought to be Europe’s largest chalk reef. All will contribute towards a network of areas which is urgently needed to ensure a healthy future for our seas.

Joan Edwards, head of Living Seas at The Wildlife Trusts, says: “We welcome today’s designation of 23 Marine Conservation Zones. UK seas have the potential to be full of incredible life and colour but continued destruction has reduced them to a shadow of their former selves. Without these astonishing submerged landscapes there simply wouldn't be any fish, let alone fantastic jewel anemones, seahorses, dolphins, brittlestars amongst all the other wild and extraordinary creatures which are part of a healthy marine ecosystem.”

Marine Conservation Zones are a type of protected area at sea designated for habitats and species of national importance, including fragile seahorses, rare native oysters and even cold water coral reefs. Such protected areas are a tried and tested means of giving vulnerable species the time and space to recover.

Joan adds: “We are pleased by this Government’s commitment to addressing the decimation of our seabed over the past century, and to delivering an ecologically coherent network of Marine Protected Areas. This second step towards the completion of a ‘blue belt’ in UK seas is crucial in turning the tide on the state of our seas but there’s still work to be done. We look forward to working with Government and stakeholders to ensure these 50 MCZs are properly managed and to achieve the much-needed ambitious and comprehensive third and final tranche. This will be the start of turning our over-fished, over-exploited and currently under-protected waters back into a healthy and sustainable environment.”

The list of Marine Conservation Zones was drawn-up by sea-users, scientists and conservationists, with Government committing to designating the sites in three waves or tranches. The Wildlife Trusts, actively involved in every step of the process, are buoyed by the achievement of another important milestone on the road to better protected seas. We are calling for anyone interested in protecting our seas to join more than 8,000 other passionate supporters and become a Friend of MCZs.

Of the 23 new Marine Conservation Zones a number are in or off the coast of Cornwall; including Lands End, Mounts Bay and Newquay and The Gannel which is fantastic news!

To find out more about each of the new Marine Conservation Zones follow the links below:

1. Coquet to St Mary’s
2. Farnes East
3. Fulmar
4. Runswick Bay
5. Holderness Inshore

6. Cromer Shoal Chalk Beds
7. The Swale Estuary
8. Dover to Deal
9. Dover to Folkestone
10. Offshore Brighton
11. Offshore Overfalls
12. Utopia
13. The Needles

14. Western Channel
15. Mounts Bay
16. Lands End
17. North-West of Jones Bank
18. Greater Haig Fras
19. Newquay and The Gannel
20. Hartland Point to Tintagel
21. Bideford to Foreland Point
22. West of Walney
23. Allonby Bay

To find out more about the already established Marine Conservation Zones in Scilly why not take a look at the Marine Conservation section of our website.

Tagged with: Living Seas, Marine Conservation Zone; Marine Protection